Food Stamps to Pay for Fast Food?

Each morning during the work week, my husband turns on the television so he can hear some local news while he’s getting ready for work.  I’m usually running around the house like a chicken with my head cut off — wake up the kids, dole out clothing for the day, fix breakfast, fix lunch for my husband, get the kids out the door — so I don’t usually get my local news from the TV.

The other day, however, I just happened to walk into our bedroom to hear a really disturbing story.  Apparently, the company that owns Pizza Hut and Taco Bell is pushing hard for changes in the Food Stamps program that will allow recipients to spend their allotment, OUR TAX DOLLARS, on fast food! Outraged doesn’t even begin to cover my feeling at hearing such disturbing news.

I turned to my husband and said, “Even if I received food stamps, I still wouldn’t want to be allowed to spend them on fast food, for crying out loud!” He agreed, of course.

My sister receives food stamps.  I don’t know what her monthly allotment is today, but I know that it’s definitely adequate to feed her family.  The thing that’s always bugged me though is that she’s not unique in her buying habits.  She spends her food stamps on “junk”, pop, prepared foods, and items that, in general, give you less nutrition for more money.  The ability to spend food stamps on fast food will only make things worse for these families.

Now some people say, “I should be allowed to buy whatever I want with my food stamps,”, but I totally disagree.  I’ve participated in the WIC program since my daughter was 2.  If you want to participate, you have to play by their rules.  WIC isn’t a right.  Food stamps aren’t a right.  In my view, if you don’t like the rules, don’t participate.

To me, this is a symptom of what’s going on in families all over the country.  People are getting too much junk and too little nutrition.  I think it’s great that you can buy garden plants with food stamps, but fast food?

Resources:

This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food Stamps to Pay for Fast Food?

  1. Pingback: The Impossible is Possible Tonight | Gashouse Radio

Leave a Reply

